Most of the church was built in
the Norman period (11th - 12th century) and it was only altered
a little until additions were made in the Tudor period (16th century).
The village was quite poor and so the church was not enlarged
In 1919 the Pilkington Glass Company acquired land in Kirk Sandall
and built a glass factory. To house its workers the Pilkington
family built the garden village of Kirk Sandall and including
many amenities such as the bowling and cricket clubs.
By the 1960s the old village of Kirk Sandall had virtually disappeared
and the church was isolated from the new village. A new church
and church hall were built and St Oswald's church was redundant.
In 1980 it was taken over by The
Redundant Churches Fund, which is now known as The
Churches Conservation Trust. It cares for and maintains the
church so that this priceless gem can be preserved for future
generations to enjoy.
It is the aim of the Friends of St Oswald's to open the church
for public use at weekends in spring and summer. Why not join
the friends to help us to do this and more.
The church is no longer used for religious ceremonies
such as weddings and christenings. For use of
the church for other events please see details on the Events